A Cloud Never Dies: The Passing of Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh | TWOII podcast | Episode #20

At such a demanding and delicate time, the presenters, Zen Buddhist monk Brother Phap Huu and lay Buddhist practitioner and journalist Jo Confino, reflect on Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh passing on January 22nd, 2022. They offer a profound insight…
0
(0)

At such a demanding and delicate time, the presenters, Zen Buddhist monk Brother Phap Huu and lay Buddhist practitioner and journalist Jo Confino, reflect on Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh passing on January 22nd, 2022. They offer a profound insight into the memorial week, the funeral, impact on the Plum Village community, and the overwhelming global response.

This instalment of the podcast is an intimate account of the period between the announcement of Thich Nhat Hanh’s passing and the recording of this episode: “a retreat of silence, and a retreat of remembering Thay and continuing Thay.”

Brother Phap Huu, Thay’s former attendant and current Abbot of the Upper Hamlet, shares his personal relationship with Thich Nhat Hanh and how these events have impacted him. He also shares a detailed behind-the-scenes look at the traditional ceremonies and memorial services, preparations, and processions, as well as personal stories from the Plum Village communities over the eight days following the beloved teacher’s passing.

The conversation delves into: the significance of the ceremonies’ texts; the deep practises underpinning the formalities; Thay becoming a spiritual ancestor; deep levels of aspiration; the symbolic homes for Thay’s ashes; acceptance, togetherness, and impermanence; the relevance of Thay’s teachings for years to come; and what it means to be the continuation of Thay.

The episode ends with a short meditation on continuation and gratitude, guided by Brother Phap Huu.

——
🎧 Listen to previous episodes on YouTube ➛ http://pvapp.to/twoii-episodes

——-
🔔 The Way Out Is In: The Zen Art of Living is a podcast series mirroring Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh’s deep teachings of Buddhist philosophy: a simple yet profound methodology for dealing with our suffering, and for creating more happiness and joy in our lives. 🔔

——-
The podcast is co-produced by the Plum Village App:
https://plumvillage.app/
And Global Optimism:
https://globaloptimism.com/
With support from the Thich Nhat Hanh Foundation:
https://thichnhathanhfoundation.org/

——-
🎧 Listen to the podcast on the FREE Plum Village App ➛ https://web.plumvillage.app/talks/the-way-out-is-in and other streaming services.

——-
Resources:

Plum Village Community ➛ https://plumvillage.org/
🎙️ Thich Nhat Hanh ➛ https://plumvillage.org/about/thich-nhat-hanh/
🎙️ Brother Phap Huu ➛ https://plumvillage.org/people/dharma-teachers/br-phap-huu/
🎙️ Jo Confino ➛ https://www.instagram.com/joconfino/?hl=en

Thich Nhat Hanh memorial ceremonies ➛ https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLaX_vxbhs8fi9nUbUL75NorK6yYOSrWzd
Memorial Practice Resources ➛ https://plumvillage.org/memorial-practice-resources/
‘Photos from Thay’s Memorial Ceremonies’ ➛ https://plumvillage.org/articles/photos-from-thays-memorial-ceremonies/
‘Daily Contemplations on Impermanence and Interbeing’ ➛ https://plumvillage.org/daily-contemplations-on-impermanence-interbeing/
Chants: ‘Namo Avalokiteshvaraya’ ➛ https://plumvillage.org/library/chants/namo-avalokiteshvaraya/
‘Namo’valokiteshvaraya Chant’ (2022) ➛ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZkjX_c4hm4
Chants: ‘Heart Sutra’ ➛ https://plumvillage.org/library/chants/heart-sutra/
‘New Heart Sutra Translation by Thich Nhat Hanh’ ➛ https://plumvillage.org/about/thich-nhat-hanh/letters/thich-nhat-hanh-new-heart-sutra-translation/
Monastic robes ➛ https://plumvillage.org/about/thich-nhat-hanh/letters/monastic-fashion/
Sister Chan Khong ➛ https://plumvillage.org/about/sister-chan-khong/
Plum Village Lineage ➛ https://plumvillage.org/series/plum-village-lineage/
‘Memories from the Root Temple: My Master’s Robe’ ➛ https://plumvillage.org/articles/memories-from-the-root-temple-my-masters-robe/
‘The 16 Exercises of Mindful Breathing’ ➛ https://plumvillage.org/library/songs/the-16-exercises-of-mindful-breathing/#

#ThichNhatHanh #TheWayOutIsIn #PlumVillage #TWOII

You can help us caption and translate this video: https://amara.org/en/videos/yvo9ovcKxjAx

0 / 5. 0